Art Conservation: Databases & Journals

AATA Online is a free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. It has been managed and published by the Getty Conservation Institute since 1983. AATA Online contains over 148,000 records and adds approximately 4,000 new records each year through regular updates.

CAMEO is a searchable information resource developed by the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. It contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.

Initiated by the Getty Conservation Institute and ICCROM (International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property), BCIN was launched in 1987 as a subscription database. Now available through the Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN), since May 2002 BCIN has been available free of charge. The database provides access to over 190,000 bibliographic citations for conservation literature. BCIN includes citations from the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (prior to 1998), technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books and audiovisual and unpublished materials. The database also includes previously unavailable material from private sources, as well as new information gathered by a worldwide network of contributors. Most of the data in BCIN are recorded in English; however, subject keywords are provided in both English and French. Titles remain in the language of the original publication with an English translation provided.

CoOL,an online resource operated by the Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation is a full text library of conservation information, covering a wide spectrum of topics of interest to those involved with the conservation of library, archives and museum materials.

Since the Encyclopedia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.

Searching something like 'textile' will retrieve almost 3,000 results, whereas a more specific search on 'Gobelins Manufactory' will produce closer to 50 results.

JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers and students. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http:/about.jstor.org/

A variety of journals can be found on JSTOR, like the Journal of the American Institute for Conservation (Coverage: 1977-2014 (Vol. 16, No. 2 - Vol. 53, No. 4)) and Studies in Conservation (Coverage: 1952-2014 (Vol. 1, No. 1 - Vol. 59, No. 6)).

Oxford Art Online gives users access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links, and 5,500 images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as access to more than 5,000 entries and 500 images from the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.