Recommended Databases

Researchers can track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods, and find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles, and much more. Indexing of art reproductions helps users find virtually any work of interest—including works by emerging artists—as well as examples of styles and movements in art.

ArtNet's Fine Art and Design Price Database is a comprehensive color-illustrated online database of 4 million fine art and design auction results. Covering more than 188,000 international artists and designers ranging from old masters to contemporary art, the Fine Art and Design Price Database allows users to search auction results dating back to 1985.ArtNet's Decorative Art Price Database allows users to research sales prices for decorative arts sold in international auctions.

The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

JSTOR provides electronic access to millions of journal articles, books, and images across disciplines. The Ingalls Library's JSTOR subscription provides access to thousands of full-text periodicals. All periodical coverage starts with the first issue and continues to within three to five years of the current date. This period is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR. The Ingalls Library also maintains many current electronic journal subscriptions available via searching the catalog or by browsing our electronic journals database.

NOTE: Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select “images” tab to search images.

Oxford Art Online gives users access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,500 images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as access to more than 5,000 entries and 500 images from the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.